Certificate of Spanish law

Certificate of law

Certificate of Spanish law

Occasionally, British & Irish citizens residing in Spain, for legal matters in their home country, are asked to supply a Certificate of Spanish Law, an Affidavit as to Spanish law, or require a practising English solicitor to witness the execution of an Affidavit or Oath. Many Spanish notaries refuse to sign English documents. A Spanish lawyer/abogado is not regarded as an officer of the court and as such cannot act in these matters.

Malaga Law Solicitors, with its English practising solicitor, is able assist with the following:-

  • Provide a Certificate of Spanish law
  • Provide an Affidavit as to Spanish law (commonly required in UK probate matters)
  • Provide a Certificate of English law
  • Witness the swearing of an Affidavit
  • Witness the swearing of an Oath
  • Witness the declaring of a Statutory Declaration
  • Witness the signing of a Land Registry form (i.e. ID1, ID2, etc)
  • Provide a Certificate of Compliance (i.e. as required by Land Registry)
  • Certify copies of passport, bank statement, utility bills, etc.
  • Provide official translations of legal documents
  • Arrange notarisation and legalisation (i.e. affixing of apostille stamp) of Spanish documents for use outside of Spain

Oaths and Affidavits
An Oath or an Affidavit is a document which needs to be sworn before a solicitor or commissioner for oaths. The document has to be sworn whilst holding a bible or other holy book or affirming.

Statutory Declarations
A Statutory Declaration is similar to an Oath or an Affidavit and is commonly used for property matters or other times when evidence is needed outside of court.  Statutory Declarations are declared as opposed to sworn.

Certified Copies of Documents
Sometimes certified copies of documents are requested by organisations requiring a copy which has been verified as a true copy of the original.

Solicitors, lawyers and abogados for Mijas, La Cala de Mijas, Mijas Golf, Sitio de Calahonda, Fuengirola, Benalmádena, Arroyo de la Miel, Torremolinos, Riviera del Sol, Malaga, Alhaurín de la Torre, Alhaurín el Grande, Churriana, Coín, Alora, Ronda, Marbella, Puerta Banús, Cabopino, Cancelada, Estepona, Casares, Duquesa, El Rosario, Benahavís, Istán, Ojén, Manilva, San Pedro de Alcántara, Elviria, Las Chapas, Sotogrande, San Roque, La Linea, Algeciras, Tarifa, Nerja, Frigiliana, El Palo, Torrox, Torrox-Costa, Vélez-Málaga, Rincón de la Victoria, Torre del Mar, La Cala del Moral, Bengalbón, Chilches, Caleta de Vélez, Viñuela.